Taste And See.

bre's pictures 061

“In the darkness I’ll dance, in the shadows I’ll sing… There is strength when I say I will praise You.” -Rend Collective

God is good, no doubt. I’ve experienced and felt the incomprehensible reality of this statement in my life over and over.

But truth be told, sometimes life is still hard.

Sometimes prayers go unanswered.

Sometimes dreams shatter.

Sometimes sickness takes over.

Sometimes confusion leaves us broken.

And sometimes fear feels crippling.

I’ve walked through each of these valleys. I’ve felt what it is like to not know, to not know why, to not know how, to not know when. As I know you have too. And I’ve sought God in these times, I’ve looked for Him in the pain this life brings. But if I’m to be honest, I don’t think I ever expected to truly find Him. Or at least, I didn’t know what it meant to truly find Him. I’ve merely called out for and expected an artificial version of God to show up. A version that calls to me from a distance, and merely encourages me to “get through”.

But this artificial version of God is not our reality. We serve a God who does not call out to us from a distance, but one who walks right beside us, in the darkness, in the valley, and in the desert. And He does not simply encourage us to “get through”, but calls us to stand up, and walk with confidence, knowing that His sovereignty reigns above our circumstance, and that because of that, we can find joy and peace in the midst of our difficulties.

We have to remember that He is just as good now in the confusion as He was in the triumph. He hasn’t changed. Don’t forget the days He redeemed you, the days He spoke to you, the days He showed you His great favor. Take heed to the words of David when he said, “I will remember the deeds of the Lord, yes I will remember your miracles of long ago. I will consider all your works, and meditate on your holy deeds. ” (Psalms 77:11-12) Because that God is the same God that is walking right beside you now, and He is the same God that is going to finish with you.

So stop expecting pain. Stop doubting the promises of God. Stop doubting the sovereignty of God. You don’t have to wait for this struggle to end to regain your perspective, to regain your hope, to regain your joy. Find it right now though the presence of God that over powers your situation. Take hold of the presence of God from which all good things come.

So worship Him. Worship Him for all He has done, all he is doing, and all you know He will do. It doesn’t have to make since, but choose to put your faith in front of your pain. And worship Him. Worship Him widely.  Worship Him relentlessly. Worship Him not from the place of fear and doubt you may feel, but worship Him from a place of faith and hope that you know. Worship Him like your already on the mountain. Tell Him He is good. Tell Him You trust Him. Even if you are broken, tell Him He is good. Because He is, and if you keep telling Him, you will remember too.

 

“Oh taste and see that the Lord is good.” ~Psalms 34:8

Leave a Reply

