When I Am Weak…

“Forgiven beloved
Hidden in Christ
Made in the image of the Giver of Life
Righteous and holy
Reborn and remade
Accepted and worthy, this is our new name.”

Jason Gray ‘I Am New’

Sometimes, I still find myself tangled in lies of days past, living outside of the truth I believe in. Sometimes, I live like a hypocrite, teaching great truths to others, and not letting them penetrate my own heart. Sometimes, I live like fear is relevant, when I know beyond a shadow of doubt that it isn’t. Sometimes, I am a lot weaker than I want to be, a lot weaker than I dream of being.

In this, discouragement begins to settle in… leaving me feeling confused, unsettled, and weak, reminding me once again, of my huge inadequacy and overwhelming need for God.

And that’s ok. Because Jesus is big enough to fill that need. He knew the enormity of my need when He chose me to be adopted into His kingdom, and said His grace was sufficient. His power would be made perfect through my weakness.

This weakness may not feel like a source of strength right now, and I may not enjoy the confusion of my sinful state. But the Lord’s promises are true. He will be faithful through our weaknesses to be our strength, He will work all things for our good, and fill with us with perfect peace as we keep our minds on Him.

We can trust Him in the middle of our disorder. As we lean on Him, fix our eyes on Him, and believe His word above all else, He will come through with what we need. We don’t need all the explanations and answers, we just need His truth.

Leave a Reply

