What Am I Doing?

Fifteen teenagers, all under the age of 16 would not denounce Jesus, and because of this, they were beheaded. Not a pretty headliner, not easy small talk, just a cold, dark reality.

I saw this news while scrolling through my social media this evening. Realization hit me hard in that moment. Here I am about to spend the rest of my night watching Netflix, while others are being violently murdered for simply loving and honoring Jesus. By their life and death, no doubt.

And what am I doing? What am I really doing in this life to create a lasting effect? What chances am I taking? Am I even taking chances? What am I truly willing to risk? What is God trying to tell me, through the cloud of my selfishness and my encompassing need for security, that I’m missing?

We live in a blessed society where we can pray in public, share the Gospel, and worship freely without fearing for our lives. Yet, sometimes, I believe we live like we can’t. We don’t fear violent acts of death, but instead, we fear social rejection and status decay.

We don’t speak up for injustice because we don’t want to go against the current. Its just too hard we say. We don’t speak up and share prayer with a needy soul because we fear their rejection will lead to our low self esteem. We just won’t bother them we say. We don’t boldly share the gospel because we don’t want to be labeled the Jesus freak. Surely they already know we say.

Well, I’m going to start taking a note from the brave Christians who have gone before me. Maybe you can brake the current. Maybe that needy soul would turn to Jesus with the offer of your prayer. Maybe someone is just waiting for someone to tell them more about this Jesus.

Not everyone is a blessed as I am to live in a place where faith in Jesus isn’t a death sentence. I want to live like it isn’t. I want to be motivated by the fear of what will happen if I don’t speak up, instead of the possibility of what will happen if I do speak up. Hell is a reality, and I want to quit pretending it isn’t.

I want to speak up. Speak out. I want to pray. Pray for and with. Seek needs. Fulfill needs. I want to fight against the current. And pull others with me.  I don’t wanna play it low key, I don’t wanna play it safe, I wanna fight for the cause. I’m gonna tune out my own voice, so I can follow His better.

I’m blessed to not have to die for Jesus, I can at least live for Him.

“For none of us lives to himself, and none of us dies to himself. For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s. For to this end Christ died and lived again, that he might be Lord both of the dead and of the living.” Romans 14:7-9

Leave a Reply

