College? Bring It On.

IMG_0412“When I’m lost in the mystery, to You my future is a memory. Cause You’re already there, You’re already there, standing at the end of my life, waiting on the other side.”                                                                                     ~MercyMe ‘Already There’

Well, I have been trying to find the words to right a blog about starting college all summer. But how does one begin to summarize something so big? How does one categorize the emotions, fears, anticipation, and joy of such a new experience?! I just heard the song “Already There” by MercyMe, and figured it was as good a starting point as any.

So, tomorrow is the big day. My first day at a University. I’d like to tell you I have no fear, no anxiety, and that I am completely prepared. But I believe honesty is something to be valued, and the truth is, I’m scared. I’m scared I won’t make friends or get connected. I’m scared the work load will be too much. I’m scared I won’t be good enough. It’s a lot of change all at once, and that intimidates me.

I’ve never liked change. I like to have a plan, and stick to the plan. I’m the kind of person that has a planner in her desk and in her purse. The thing is, God doesn’t run His plan by us. He just says follow me, and often only gives one direction at a time. We are to listen and go when He says go, and then wait for His next direction. It’s called faith, and that’s what this life is all about.

I want to know who my friends will be, what organizations I should be involved in, how my grades will be, and so much more. God isn’t laying this out before me though. He told me to go to this school. That was my direction. He didn’t give me a detailed blueprint to follow. I am certain, though, that he will give me enough guidance and strength for each day as it comes. I may not know how everything will work out, but I know that everything will work out.

So, tomorrow I will walk into my new classes for the first time. Tomorrow, I will trust God even though I am surrounded by new and unfamiliar circumstances. Tomorrow, I will begin discovering what God’s plan for my time here at this University is. It won’t all come at once, but it will come as I need it. Just like the song says, He is ALREADY THERE. So as long as I follow His voice, I will end up there too.

Leave a Reply

