Move

The following is an excerpt from a commentary found in my Bible. It goes right along with my last blog post. It really hit home for me when I read it. Its based off the following Bible verse.

Abram lived in the land of Canaan, while Lot lived among the cities of the plain and pitched his tent near Sodom.  – Genesis 13:12

“Just like Lot, the alluring draw of sin can make me think I can live right outside its boundaries. I justify staying close to the sin because it gives me advantages in life. I flirt with temptation, never intending to partake in or participate in the sin itself. Then I slowly move closer and closer until temptation takes over. When my faith is weak, I often give in to sin.

We cannot be near sin. We cannot flirt with sin. We cannot be friends with sin. And we certainly cannot move close to sin. Instead we must move completely away from it. Thankfully God has equipped us with the power to make hard choices. It’s up to us to make the first move.”

~Wendy Pope

 

Leave a Reply

