Chosen

“Before the creation of the world, He chose us.” ~Ephesians 1:4

Today was a bad day. One of those days when you jus fail repetitively. I crossed lines I didn’t want to cross, said things I didn’t want to say, and ruined things that could have been good through poor decisions. And with all these mistakes and the disappointments of the day running through my mind, discouragement set in.

Somehow, in all my discouragement God still stoops down to come and reassure me. To reassure me of His love, to reassure me of His presence, and to reassure me of my identity. I am reading a commentary on Ephesians right now and the very section I was on tonight hit right at home. The verse that spoke to me was Ephesians 1:4. This verse says that God chose us before the creation of the world. It’s not that I didn’t already know God chose me long before my existence, but hearing it again tonight was just what I needed. God already knew all the times I was going to mess up. He knew all the things I would say that I shouldn’t, or the things I wouldn’t say that I should. He knew all the times I would give in to temptation, and cross the line. He knew all the times I would hide behind fear, and all the times I would reject His truth. Yet, He still chose me. He chose me.

Do you know what this tells me? It tells me God approves of me, despite all of my flaws. Why? Because this isn’t about me. This is about Him. It always has been and all ways will be. I have His approval through Jesus’ blood, not my works. This means I can forgive myself when I mess up, pick myself back up, and continue being who He chose me to be, and doing what He chose me to do. This means I can live in freedom. I can live in Grace. I can live in victory.

He chose me to be His. He chose me to be a heir of royalty. He chose me to play a influential part in His kingdom. He chose me to serve His people, to serve Him. He chose me to be free. To be loved. To be safe. He chose me not because of anything I would do, or anything I could do. He chose me because of His grace and mercy.He chose me because he loves me. He loves me.

What an amazing relief to realize it is not up to me to measure up to any standard.

2 thoughts on “Chosen

  1. Although this was months ago for you now, it was exactly what I needed to read now. ❤ Thanks for the words.

Leave a Reply

