The Hiding

“Sometimes the risk of missing out is greater then the risk that comes with stepping out.” ~Stephen Furtick

I’m just going to be honest right now. I have spent the past few weeks believing and living so many lies. The consistency of these lies in my life brought me to a bad place emotionally. I didn’t see it happening. I just realized one day, I was living as though the truth in God’s word no longer applied to me.

That’s how the Devil works. He doesn’t one day just convince you to forget everything you have ever believed. Instead, he consistently feeds you little lies, until they create in you a new reality.

I just recently recognized this happening in my life. Instead of the Devil telling me I was insecure, he told me an accumulation of small lies that created in me this false insecurity.

As these circumstantial lies began to accumulate, I began believing I had to hide.  I was afraid of stepping out of my comfort zone, doing things that required confidence and security, afraid of rejection. So I believed the lie that it was safer to just hide behind insecurity. So I did. I hid from the uncomfortable. I hid from confrontation. I hid from opposition. I hid because I thought the risk of stepping out, was greater than staying hid. All this hiding brought me to believe one very influential lie. I was insecure. So I began to hide behind that too.

I had to first recognize that this insecurity was a lie. It was me hiding because I was afraid of the results of stepping out. Second, I realized that just as I believed this lie as a result of several small choices to hide, I had to now work in reverse. I had to take steps daily to come out of hiding. Third, I had to speak the truth that God’s says of me into my life. God did not give me a spirit of fear. I can do all things through Him. I am more than an overcomer. These truths are my reality.

I am so thankful for a God who continues to take me back. He loves so unconditionally and sometimes all I do in response is run.  Yet, when I finally come around, He is still there waiting for me to run into His arms. I am also so thankful that I don’t have to believe lies and hide behind insecurity anymore. I am stepping out and being who God tells me I am, even when I don’t feel like I am those things.

I know sometimes it seems better to just hide. I’ve done it too much to not know. But the truth is, if we don’t take chances and live bold confident lives, we are going to loose far more than if were to step out and fall.

One thought on “The Hiding

  1. This is a great post Breanne! I really enjoyed it. It was truly an encouragement and it really spoke to some things that I have been struggling with as well. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

